Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

MSW en route to PSYD HELP!?

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by GAUCHO VIC, Dec 24, 2008.

1. GAUCHO VIC

Psychology Student
    Quick Background:
    Hello I currently just graduated from a UC with a sub-par GPA due to the fact that I changed my major many a time. I majored in Religious Studies and minored in applied psych and took my GRE Psych subject (520). I currently work with Mental Health at a homeless shelter and have decided that I want to become a psychologist. I have done extensive research into master's and psy d programs and even stayed an extra quarter to take the pre-req's for an MA in Clinical of Counseling Psych, I am 90% positive that I want to make the commitment and go to school for however long it takes to obtain my masters, and psy d. en route to becoming a Clinical Psychologist.

In talking with a few MSW's I work with, and as a result checking out some MSW programs I believe my chances of admission into a reputable MSW program are much higher than getting into an equally distinguished MA in Clinical or Counseling Psych program (Due to my work experience with high-risk populations). If I decided to go into an MSW program and direct my studies toward community mental health will I have an equal chance in admission with MA's in clinical or counseling psych?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. hermionephd

2+ Year Member

If you want a PsyD, I would just keep doing what you're doing, getting more experience, and you probably won't have a problem... they're not hard to get into.

4. Therapist4Chnge

Therapist4Chnge Neuropsych Ninja Faculty
    Faculty Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Psychologist
    uhm....very program dependent. :rolleyes:

5. WannaBeDrMe

2+ Year Member

Yeah, agreed, the good PsyD programs are not a cakewalk and I'd say I might stand a better chance at a few phd clinical programs than @ Baylor. Ha.