My current situation, any advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jjohan35

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in 2004 with a BS degree from UC Davis in Biology. My GPA was fairly decent with 3.5 until my fourth and final year which I got in a rough relationship that left me somewhat unfocused. Upon graduation, my final GPA was lowered to 3.1.

I took MCAT in spring of 2003 and got 10, 9, 11, R (bio, phy, verb, written respectively). I understand that my score has expired for most schools, but I am willing to take it again. I am not too worried about the MCAT other than it's now on the computer.

I applied to MD schools in '05 for Fall '06, got rejected to all of them. The last two years I did random jobs until this past Fall ('06) where I enrolled in the Post-Bac program at Upenn. I got straight A's last semester. I'm planning to stay in this post-bac program for one year, and applying again this coming summer for Fall '08 (and taking my 2nd MCAT this spring). This is my second time applying.

Do you guys have any suggestions? Should I reapply to schools I've already applied? Should I look at other paths? Any feedback is appreciated, including tips on my new application.

Members don't see this ad.