May 19, 2017
Status
Pre-Optometry
So I just took the OAT yesterday and thought I would try and give back for how much these threads have helped me. I would say the best study materials were DAT Bootcamp and chads videos/quizzes for the test. It may be a stretch to order DAT bootcamp for an OAT, but there are about 11 practice exams for each subject, and they help a lot for realistic practice. I had bought the destroyer set, but didn't have time to finish it through most of it, however, if you do plan ahead and have time I would suggest it for more practice. The first thing that I studied was my notes from chads videos. He really helped get concepts down, and practice on the DAT bootcamp solidified the information since it wasn't crazy hard.
For physics, i would say the BEST thing you can do is order "Cracking the OAT". About 300 pages of straight physics review, and it really helped for the real OAT since physics isn't really based on crazy calculations that involve multiple steps. If you get the concepts of physics then the test should go smoother than trying to learn how to do these problems the Kaplan practice test/destroyer gives. Not saying that you shouldn't use it for practice, but don't get discouraged too much. But also I wouldn't just bank on getting a higher score either since physics is more about trying to get all the concepts down. I personally didn't think Kaplan physics was too reflective with the real OAT since I had gotten a 260 on it but scored a 330 on physics on the real one. I would say chads quizzes for physics and the cracking book helps a lot for that subject and are worth your time. I had also gone through the 148 problems on destroyer two days before, but again the real OAT did not require you to do a lot of calculations, and if they did it was very doable if you understood the concept. If you also do buy the cracking the OAT, (20$ on walmart.com)