My Situation - Any Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HTX

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been browsing the forums for the past few days trying to soak up all the information I can, and now that I've developed a plan I'd like to see what you all think and suggest I do...

I graduated in May 2009 with a BBA from University of Texas at Austin, which is one of the top business schools in the country. Unfortunately, my cGPA was an absolutely horrible 2.54 due to various reasons ranging from immaturity, work, and personal family medical issues. I shouldn't have let any of that affect my studies, but unfortunately I did and I take full responsibility for that. However, I have a renewed passion for medicine as I have been volunteering at the local hospital ever since graduation. I am also currently working towards my MBA in Health Care Administration (will be done in Feb. 2011), and my current GPA for those courses is a 3.5 since I've gotten my act together now. I'm planning on starting the pre-med requirements in Spring 2011 - should take me 1 to 1.5 years if I take summer classes as well.

I believe in Texas the TMDSAS uses your transcript GPA rather than the AMCAS GPA (am awaiting confirmation from the TMDSAS on this). If I get at least a 3.5 sGPA in my pre-med courses, I can bump my cGPA up to around a 3.1 (undergrad, grad, and pre-med classes).

To make a long story short, what do you think my chances are at med school with:

- cGPA of around 3.1
- sGPA of at least 3.5
- MCAT 30+
- 200+ hours shadowing physician (currently, will continue to do so)
- 100+ volunteer hours (currently, will continue to do so)
- 3 years experience working in a medical clinic during high school and college

Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.