My tentative schedule for step 1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Caretaker22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a medical student currently enrolled in 3rd year MBBS (Will be in 4th year soon). I'm hoping to give the USMLE step 1 either near the end of 4th year (over a year from now) or sometime in 5th year.

My resources:

Kaplan Lecture notes 2016 + Kaplan videos
First aid step 1 (2016) + Errata FA2016
BRS Physio
Conrad Fischer ethics
Rapid Review Pathology by Goljan (Possibly with addition of Pathoma videos? As I heard Patho is THE most important portion of Step 1 regardless of everything else)

My plan:

Read the books slowly starting soon until about 8 months from now whereby I will start online assessments (UWorld and NBME, which, btw, are there any other good ones?) and see where I'm landing on the scoreboard to take the final plunge. Probably going to dedicate 4-5 hours a day. I dont feel like I need to rush it too much until I'm coming closer to the exam, maybe 3 or so months prior to it.

What do you all think of my plans? BTW another important question: I have found textbook versions of the USMLE world question bank and USMLE Rx question banks which basically have an mcq per page with the answer and its explanation there as well. Theres about 6 volumes per question bank. Are these legit?

Any input is more than welcome, thanks for your time guys, and good luck!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,

I'm a medical student currently enrolled in 3rd year MBBS (Will be in 4th year soon). I'm hoping to give the USMLE step 1 either near the end of 4th year (over a year from now) or sometime in 5th year.

My resources:

Kaplan Lecture notes 2016 + Kaplan videos
First aid step 1 (2016) + Errata FA2016
BRS Physio
Conrad Fischer ethics