need advice salvaging career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

finished

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have my MD degree (took 7 years), but never applied into residency. Here's what happened in med school:

I did well in my first year- mostly A's and B's. Did decide to take an extra year to graduate so i could go at a more relaxed pace during preclinical and because I had a history of migraines. Taking an extra year was generally accepted at my school (lots of people took this path).

Sometime in my second year of school, I began to feel fatigued. I also started having increasing problems with my balance. My reflexes were brisker. First neurologist I saw was not affiliated with my school. She worked me up for MS (no spinal tap), lupus, and almost every zebra one could possibly think of. All tests came back negative and she told me she didn't think I was "faking things", but that it might take 7 years to get a diagnosis- perhaps someday my ANA would turn positive.

Fatigue progressed, as did migraines. Saw another neurologist, this time an attending from my school. He accused me of faking my reflexes, screamed at me that I was just depressed, and wrote these things in my chart, unbeknownst to me. After this, many of my primary doctors at the student health center started treating me like a psych case. I was placed on antidepressants, which made me feel really goofy and spacy. I went in frequently with what felt like a lot of thyroid symptoms. my TSH was checked and I was reassured my gland was okay.

Prior to clinical years, got another neurology opinion from an outside doctor. He thought I had depression or chronic fatigue syndrome. By this time, I was growing increasingly scared about clinical rotations and my stamina. I felt really really tired, like I might slip into a coma- but I never did. My legs felt weak, like my muscles had been replaced with jelly. Increasing problems with balance.