shocker

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 26, 2004
Status
I am a 1st year student that is extremely interested in Radiology. I worked in a film hanger/do anything that makes us more efficient type capacity for 4 years before going to med school. I got to know all the rads(30 partners) very well and learned a lot about what they do.

Radiology is my top choice but my school is very primary care focused and there are not a lot of opportunities for specialty stuff. There is no Radiology residency at my school. I have tried contacting the Rads that run the program, they are private practice, and I am not getting any response.

I have been down to the dept. and looked over a couple of guy's shoulders but that is the extent of it. I e-mailed one of the 2 guys in charge of the Radiology courses but he didn't respond. I caught him in the hall afterwards and he said "Oh yeah I got it, I am going to get you in touch with Dr.?" that was over a month ago and I have not heard anything.

I can see this sounds like I am whining but I am just trying to be proactive and get involved in Radiology early. I have read thru this column and I know that it takes a lot to match.

I don't think there are any research opportunities at my school and it looks like that will really hinder me. Any input would be very helpful. Thanks.

TheDudeabides

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 30, 2004
Status
shocker said:
I am a 1st year student that is extremely interested in Radiology. I worked in a film hanger/do anything that makes us more efficient type capacity for 4 years before going to med school. I got to know all the rads(30 partners) very well and learned a lot about what they do.

Radiology is my top choice but my school is very primary care focused and there are not a lot of opportunities for specialty stuff. There is no Radiology residency at my school (ECU). I have tried contacting the Rads that run the program, they are private practice, and I am not getting any response.