Need Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jtom

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 24 and graduated with a bachelors in biology last year. I plan on applying to vet school not this year but the year after. I have no vet experience and have to make up a few classes and possibly retake the gre before the october deadline of next year.

I moved to florida from new york 5 years ago and attended one of florida public universities. My parents moved down to florida and thats the reason I moved down as well. Lets just say I really dislike florida (no offense). I really dislike the climate and lets say my college experience was extremely bad.

After I graduated last year I moved back up to new york but a few months ago had to move back down to florida because I lost my job in new york. My parents think since I have a desire to become a vet and since I went to a florida school for undergrad that I should stay here, prepare my file for admission to uf. I do live about an hour from uf and my parents think I should try to make up the pre-reqs there and that will be appealing to admissions. However, I have also read it is difficult for non-degree seeking students to get into uf classes. I admit I do agree that I stand the best chance of getting into uf but staying here until starting vet school (assuming I get in) and throughout vet school is not something easy for me to decide to do.