need career advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drlove4

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My dream is to become a psychiatrist, but my grades are not up to med school standards (around 3.2). I will be entering my junior year as an undergrad, I'm a psychology major but doing required classes for med school (math is a difficult area). Is psychiatry a realistic goal? should i consider caribbean schools? I mainly want to be a therapist in private practice, so should I aim for a PhD or Psyd?? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

PhD and PsyD are almost equally competitive to get into as medical school is. I'm not going to tell you that becoming a physician or a psychologist is out of reach for you because I don't know that. But I will say that if your main goal is to be a therapist in private practice, then medical school is probably not something you want to do anyway. There are also less competitive ways to become a therapist than through becoming a psychologist . . . you could always look into MSW or LPC programs that would get you there with just a masters degree. Between those two paths, my personal feeling is that MSW --> LCSW is better because it's a more universally recognized and respected degree and one with which you can bill Medicare. LPCs can't do that.

Good luck!

My dream is to become a psychiatrist, but my grades are not up to med school standards (around 3.2). I will be entering my junior year as an undergrad, I'm a psychology major but doing required classes for med school (math is a difficult area). Is psychiatry a realistic goal? should i consider caribbean schools? I mainly want to be a therapist in private practice, so should I aim for a PhD or Psyd?? Thanks!