Need info from students...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
G

Gard

I am currently an undergraduate student with 67 hours complete, and roughly a 2.6 GPA. However, I have all my 'tough' classes over. Now, I just need to choose a major and complete my degree. I anticipate a 3.0 minimum GPA at graduation. Does this disqualify me from med school? I was on track to be a chiropractor, but learned some rather disappointing characteristics of that profession. My heart is definitely set in medicine, and I'll do whatever it takes to make it. I just need to know if someone with a 3.0 GPA has a chance to get in somewhere. Also, I want to be a surgeon, either orthopaedic or neuro. Should I be shooting for allopathic schools rather than osteopathic? Thanks for everyone's help.

Gard

Members don't see this ad.

Well, a 3.0 is low. However, everybody knows of someone with that type of GPA getting into med school. (both allopathic and osteopathic). Nonetheless, those cases are attributed either to an excellent MCAT score, a significant trend of improvement in academic performance that is not reflected in the overall GPA, significant clinical exposure, or any other circumstance that makes you suitable for a career in medicine in the eyes of the admissions committee.

As for becoming a surgeon, it can be done as a DO. There are AOA approved residencies in orthopedic and neurological surgery. If you decide to pursue an allopathic surgical residency, the competition probably will be more intense.

Whatever you decide upon, I hope you make it. Good luck.

Over the years, I've developed somewhat of a reputation for being brutally honest at times (it comes from working in oncology). You came seeking opinions, so here is mine.