Need REAL advice for turning a 2.2 UG GPA into Med. School acceptance!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jamik

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

This is my first time on SDN. I was referred here by a friend who say's you guys/gals give honest straight-forward advice. And I could really use some of that right about now. Ok, so here it goes...

I am a 32 year old male who completed a UG in Political Science in 2001. My UG GPA was and still is 2.2. I want to re-focus my career into medicine, which was always my true love.

So please know that I will, and am determined to get into medical school. This point is not up for debate... :)

With all this said, what is my best plan to "repair" my gpa in order to get into medical school:
A) Take the core med. school entrance courses and do well on them + plus taking some other UG classes to boost my UG GPA
B) Get a MS with a high GPA
C) Both 'A' and 'B'
D) Something else like...?

I would really like appreciate some realistic advice from you. Thx!

Jamik

Members don't see this ad.

I had a 2.5 UG GPA when I graduated in '90. Worked as an engineer, was a stay-at-home mom, etc for about 12 years. Started taking undergrad science classes independently part-time and then transitioned to full-time. Maintained a 4.0 gpa. Shadowed at a hospital; I already had an extensive volunteer EMS background. Took Kaplan and got a 33 on my MCAT (11,11,11) Accepted to and competed UConn post-bacc program with a 4.0. Accepted to med school and graduated in 2007. Now completing my last year of residency.