Need some Advice, DAT Breakdown August 2020

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Schrodinger's Tiger

Reaction score
Hi!
I only recently (June 2020) figured out that I wanted to pursue dentistry. I'm a senior in college and I took the DAT and sent out all my applications to about 12 schools. I signed up for the DAT in June and took it in August 2020 before my senior year. I ended up getting a 20AA, 23PAT, 19TS. I know my TS isn't competitive, however this is my first try on the exam, and I'll be retaking since I don't expect to get in to schools this cycle. I studied with DAT Destroyer, it was really good, but I didn't have enough time before the exam to do all the revision that I wanted. I have a low GPA c2.9, s3.1. I'm also applying to postbac programs to bolster my application. What I wanted to know: is my DAT competitive for this cycle? I know it won't make up for my GPA and I'd need a higher score to do that. I'm currently working at a dental school, and I'm a TA for physics. I've done a lot of volunteering at a local hospital and senior center, and I shadowed a radiation oncologist for a week during spring break. Even though that's not dental shadowing, it was an important experience I had, that guided me to dentistry. Given all of this, do I have a chance of getting in this cycle. I'm already making preparations to apply in the next cycle, so I've been doing a lot more. I'd love to hear your opinions! (And yes, I'm aware of my absolutely dreadful OChem).

DAT: 20AA, 23 PAT, 18 TS, 23 QR, 21 RC, 19 Bio, 20 GC, 15 OC

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: