Need some advice please...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pt1234

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am looking for some objective advice on my current predicament. I am 21yrs. old, I have received my bachelor's degree and have applied/interviewed to DPT programs. I have been accepted into 3 programs including Univ. of MD.-Baltimore (which would be the one I would attend since it is the least expensive). I am fully committed to the field of PT and I know it is the line of work I would like to pursue. However, I am having many doubts for several reasons. I am legally blind & I know that if I study extremely hard I could handle the academic rigor of PT school. However, when taking A & P as an undergrad, the lab courses were very challenging for me. I understood the content but had to put extra time in to prove myself. That is a big concern for me in PT school. Also, since I graduated in Aug. I have been working as a rehab aide in an outpatient clinic. I love it but I don't drive and the amount of $ I spend on getting transportation there (I live in the suburbs -no public transportation & I could only find a job 35min. away from my home) is a lot. This concerns me b/c I don't know how I would find the means to get and pay for transportation to my clinical affiliations. Since I missed out on the milestone of driving, I feel that I need to be secure in financially supporting myself and having the security of just getting to a job, being reliable and dependable are extremely important to me. Due to the enormous debt I would incur in PT school I feel that I could never catch up financially. I am considering PTA school -but I set extremely high expectations for myself and feel that I would be wasting my "golden" ticket into PT school since its so competitive. I just want to be financially stable and confidently and diligently perform the best job that I can in a field I love. I really don't know wha