need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pookadooka

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

I've been reading the posts on SDN for a while now and i know its been done many times what are my chances but i figured i'd do one myself cause i'm getting really worried about my stats, etc.

I moved here a few months ago to Canada and am currently living in MI and working as a research assistant at MSU. I am applying for the 2006-2007 med school cycle. So my prob is that I was wondering in your opinion how I should address the weak areas in my application? The big thing is that in undergrad I was not motivated to do any work as a result of dealing with a lot of personal issues and depression. I've always known I wanted to be an MD and I have a lot of volunteer experience in the clinical and non-clinical setting, shadowed a physician, have done both clinical and basic science research, and have supervised a 4th year honor's thesis project (designing his project, and essentially doing everything a supervisor is supposed. Regardless because of my issues in undergrad I have a really crappy UG GPA (3.2 with an up-ward trend going from 3.0 to 3.7 which I know is still pretty bad) and I did a master's degree in pharmacology and have a GPA of 3.7. THe other thing is that because of other circumstances such as working full-time ever summer when i was writing the MCAT i have written the mcat 4 times (although my last was was written in aug 2004 so this is prob the last time i will be able to use this score...all my scores are above 25 and all are expired except for my last score) and the score i will be using is 29S (9PS, 8VR, 12BS). I guess my question is what do you think my chances of gainig acceptance are seeing as i have a very poor aplication profile. Also would you recommend that i address my poor GPA and multiple mcats in my personal statement. The thing is that I know I can do bette