need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tunit2190

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm really glad I found this site.

Before I start and explain what's been on my mind, I want to say thanks in advance for anyone who sees this and helps me out.

I'm a 4th year undergraduate student. I did part of my undergrad in the States and then transferred to the UK. I'm just about finishing up my last term.

Recently I was offered a PhD position to stay here at Oxford for Medical Physics. It is a really great opportunity; I like the group a lot and especially the research I'll be doing. On the other hand, for some time now I've been really interested in the MD/PhD programs that we have back in the States. Ordinarily, I would just apply to these programs and see if I get in somewhere. I don't have that luxury. Applying to MD/PhD programs would mean an almost 2 year gap for me.

Where I do my research is really important. If I don't really have a shot at the top notch MD/PhD programs, then I wouldn't want to apply and waste their time. I would go with the PhD in the UK, save myself a years time and decide later on down the road if I'm still keen on medical school.

So I want to know is if I have a fighting chance at some of these top programs. I'd love to shoot for Harvard/MIT, Stanford, Duke and Yale. These places are really the only schools that are doing the type of physics I'm interested in.