Need some feedback.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anliz

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a late 20-something employed as a caseworker. I have an undergrad degree in health education (3.0 gpa) and I'm currently pursuing a grad degree in counseling (4.0 gpa). I have strongly considered pursuing D.O. school (I'm a legacy) for some time now.
I haven't taken all the sci. prereqs yet either. Would I be wasting my time? What advice if any, could one be willing to extend to someone considering going down this path?

Members don't see this ad.

Don't see how you'd be wasting your time. Do well in your pre-reqs & on the MCAT and you'll be in good shape.

I'd recommend that you spend time shadowing different physicians to see what they do on a normal day. Be sure you're not idealizing the practice of medicine. (You don't want to go through the sometimes nasty process of med school to find out that you don't like the practice of medicine!)

Check with the schools you are interested in to be sure that you take the pre-reqs they require. You can also ask the admissions office about other things they like to see on an application.

Good luck!

Also read up on osteopathic medicine! I recommend "Osteopathic Medicine: A Reformation in Progress" by Gallagher and Humphrey.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you for all your advice. I actually knew about osteopathy and An drew Taylor Still, before it was even popular as my great-grandfather was a D.O. I'd choose osteopathy over allopathy regardless. My grandfather and would probably be rolling over in his grave otherwise.

Every post bacc science course you take can raise your undergraduate average.

You might be able to pull your average up to a 3.2. If you get a good MCAT you will be a shoe in.

Good luck.

Originally posted by skypilot
Every post bacc science course you take can raise your undergraduate average.