Aug 8, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello everyone,

I am new to SDN but I am at a bit of crossroads right now and I figured I could come to you guys for some advice.

So anyways, I just graduated from UCR with 3.3 overall gpa and 3.3 science gpa as well. My gpa does show a positive trend. I took the mcat once and got a 23 (yuck!). My extracurriculars include being a founding member of Phi Delta Epsilon at UCR, volunteer experience at multiple hospitals, I am apart of various clubs, research and I am currently an ER scribe.

I know my gpa is nothing special and my mcat is terrible but I really want to go to med school and I am just not sure what the best option for me is. First, I was thinking of applying to Caribbean med schools such as St. George, AUC, and Ross but I have been told going to these schools will really limit your options in the future. On the other hand, I would be able to start much sooner if I don't decide to pursue going to school in the states.

So my question is should I just apply for the caribbean and hope they accept me or do I actually have a chance of making it into a medical school within the states? And if i do have chance, which schools should I apply to and what would be my best course of action? I know I would obviously have to take the mcat again but should I look in to postbaccs, masters, etc?

Thank you to whomever took the time to read and all help is much appreciated!

md-2020

The Immaculate Catch
2+ Year Member
Jun 29, 2015
Status
Medical Student
Caribbean is a death trap.

Retake your MCAT and DO is an option.

MD is not possible in the near future.

About the Ads

bengirlxD

2+ Year Member
May 2, 2015
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Agreed with md- 2020. You should get a stellar MCAT grade and apply DO. Maybe retake some classes you did really poorly on

Aug 8, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical