Quantcast

Need some serious & HONEST advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Flawless

Removed
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Ok so this is my first post on SDN and it is very long one. Sorry, I just couldn't shorten it any more.

I graduated last december with bachelors in MCB and even though I applied for the last year's cycle, I didn't take it seriously enough and missed the secondary deadline for all of the schools I had applied to. I know it sounds really bad but it was mostly because my poor MCAT scores had discouraged me. I took MCAT twice last year and my scores were...
22M (9PS, 4VR, 9BS) for June 13
26O (10PS 6VR 10BS) for July 10

And I just took my third MCAT yesterday.. it was hard but I think I should get at least 30+.

Ok so here are my other stats.
Overall GPA: 3.75
sGPA: 3.5 (With three advanced medical courses including physiology and neuroanatomy offered directly through Medical school for graduate students and seniors)

My ECs:
-Volunteered in six different departments in two hospitals over the course of three years
-Was Undergraduate Research Associate for my senior year for very advanced neuropsych lab where I ran fMRI protocols for subjects
-Was a peer advisor through advising office
-was on Undergraduate student committee for MCB
-Researched effects of medical ethics course on students' perceptions of contemporary health issues and presented results at Undergraduate research symposium
-Did an honors project where I did a literature review on psychology of suicide bombers
-Lots of dean's list and other similar awards
-A lot of non-clinical volunteer experience
-Vice-President of Chemistry/Pre-professional Club for my sophomore year

So that's about it. And since graduation, I haven't been doing anything medically relevant. Do you think that'd look bad on med schools?

Also here are the schools I applied to this year:
University of Illinois at Chicago