Neurology and Couples Match Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mylaina

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question regarding The Match process... While I am only a second year student, I am very concerned over this because my fiancee is also a medical student. We want to match in the same place...

Now, I have heard of the couples match, and I was wondering what opinions people had on that. Also, for specific to Neuro-- it's an "early match" and I understand that, but what if he wants to do a residency that doesn't do an early match? How does that work? And can you do a couples match if both people want to do neuro?

Just some questions... thanks for your time/help!
Mylaina

Members don't see this ad.

couples match does not exist for early match. for (adult) neurology you go through sfmatch, which doesn't have any mechanism for couples match w/in or between the speciaties that it represents nor the vast majority of regular match ppl.
but early match and regular match makes sense w/o the need for couples match. one partner would find out 1+3 to 7.5 years of his/her life, thus the regular match partner would only rank programs in city x, y or z.
of course that makes life complicated if you're looking for smaller medical centers. don't think those at my school that did early match had any problems.

-p

Thanks... I did find some information about the timeline of early match vs. regular match... I think that if he is considering Medicine, Pathology, and Radiology-- the hardest for him to mathc to would be radiology.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)