Neurology Outpatient Practice Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deeply Superficial

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am a medical student interested in purely outpatient neurology practice (I want a Mon-Fri 9-5 lifestyle). My understanding is that this isn't very lucrative but one can make decent money by adding EEGs/EMGs to outpatient practice. I was wondering if fellowship training is required for that or will a regular neurology residency program provide me enough training?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
It's not that difficult to make high 200s to low 300s starting out in an outpatient set up in most places. Depending on how efficient you are and your procedure mix (Botox, EMG, EEG), you can get into the mid 300s and beyond once you get your practice established. This would be for non-academic jobs.

You don't need a fellowship to practice outpatient general neuro. If you want to be marketable to larger groups and want to gain more proficiency in a procedure like EMG then you should do a fellowship. Something like 90% of graduating residents pursue fellowship.

Neurology is not the highest paying area of medicine, but it's certainly not the lowest. Doing something you will enjoy doing and learning about for the rest of your career should trump salary considerations.

Reactions: 1 user
Hello

I am a medical student interested in purely outpatient neurology practice (I want a Mon-Fri 9-5 lifestyle). My understanding is that this isn't very lucrative but one can make decent money by adding EMGs to outpatient practice. I was wondering if fellowship training is required for that or will a regular neurology residency program provide me enough training to run