Neuroscience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pinner Doc

drop knees, not bombs
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For all those who have taken Step 1 (and all those who are preparing for it)...

I'm currently studying neuroscience from Lange's Road Map: Neuroscience. It was highly recommended in FA 2005. It's highly detailed, though. As I sit here memorizing cerebellar and hippocampus pathways, I seriously wonder if it's worth it. There is barely ANY mention of either of these pathways (let alone structures!!) in First Aid... or even QBank. Most of the neuro I've seen in either of these highly-touted sources has been either pathology, or very basic pathways (spinothalamic, corticospinal, etc).

Should I continue memorizing "the entorrhinal cortex projects to the dentate gyrus, which projects to CA3 neurons" like an automaton, or should I concentrate elsewhere?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

You will get one question that truly tests your knowledge of cerebellar pathways, and you will kick yourself for not studying it more, but is it high yield? Not as much as straight neuro-pathology.

If you can get your hands on High Yield Neuro, do it! That book is so awesome that the author even breaks down the highlights for each chapter in the preface of the book, which I referred to constantly to make sure I hit the high yield material and not waste my time on other stuff.

DrPharaohX said:
If you can get your hands on High Yield Neuro, do it! That book is so awesome that the author even breaks down the highlights for each chapter in the preface of the book, which I referred to constantly to make sure I hit the high yield material and not waste my time on other stuff.

I agree. HY is great for neuro

Members don't see this ad :)
idiopathic...

who are you man?