New ACGME Standards

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
That's pretty sweet.

Pity I had to do over 32hrs straight when I was an intern.

Members don't see this ad :)
what's the likelihood that this will be implemented.. seriously? 16hour shifts for pgy1s? ;p
I suspect it is a pretty good likelihood a significant component will be implemented.

I don't see how much of this will affect an Anesthesiology resident anyway. When I interviewed, all residents went home after 24 hours. I guess, the "single patient" rule allows CA residents to stay on in the middle of a large case? And the 14 hours off after a 24-hour shift: don't programs give you the entire post-call day off anyway? Does the change to supervision have any implications for the Anesthesiology resident?

I start my intern year next week; I would have liked 16 hours rather than overnights on my upcoming ICU months.

If this sticks it to any one specialty in particular, it's likely IM, and frankly they deserve everything they get. To all the beaten-down Anesthesia interns who had to serve as slaves on the medicine wards, taking extra call because of the IM residents' clinic days, admitting their 10th gorked-out gomer of the night from the nursing home at 5 AM in the ER... your day of justice has arrived. :smuggrin:

The consequence (intended or not) that rarely gets discussed in conjunction with such regulation is that "work" may be left undone. That is, there is a quantifiable, ever-expanding, amount of work that must be done. If you're going to reduce work hours, you need to do one of the following:

1) Reduce the work to be done. Wouldn't it be great if you could get rid of al the BS aspects of being a trainee? Too bad no one can define what is and is not important for your training. They can always claim that discharge planning and patient transport are part of the "systems-based practice."