Nov 8, 2010
Eau Claire, WI
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi,

So im a senior in high school and in the midst of applying to schools where i will be pursuing my undergrad. In college, i hope to study geography/political science, whilst hopefully earning some type of certificate or something in global health. I would seek to earn a B.A., as well as completing the med pre-requ's., MCAT, shadowing, research, etc. So i am wondering what people would suggest as best schools where i could pursue these interests. Ultimately, like most on here, i hope to one day go to med school.

I'm a wisconsin resident, and have applied to:

UW-Madison
U of M-Twin Cities
UW-Eau Claire
University of New Mexico (Amigo Scholarship = Instate tuition in a kick ass state)
Beloit College

Academically New Mexico (from what i've heard) is a bit inferior to the others, though i would be applying for the honors school. But i love the mountains, and the many opportunities they afford, as well as the change of climate... UNM also has a med school (though i still wouldnt be in state-but would it help if i attended there for my undergrad or doesnt that really matter?)

So when it comes time to applying to med schools would higher caliber schools look down upon new mexico as opposed to a school like Madison or the U of M? Or doesnt it matter, and if i work my ass off, study like hell for the MCAT and do a bunch of volunteering/shadowing/research-would i be just like everyone else...

Thanks, and also sorry for the length of the post.

rcheech7

EM
7+ Year Member
Apr 8, 2010
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I have a friend who went to UNM for undergrad, was accepted to Stanford and Harvard (on waitlist for Harvard though). He just started at Stanford this past August. He had amazing EC's (Interned with a senator on US health policy, WHO intern in Geneva), and plenty of research from all kinds of research programs affiliated with UNM.