New patient visits vs. return patient visits

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Celexa

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a resident in a large academic program. Many aspects of our outpatient clinics are frustrating to the residents, but one of the most immediate issues is that there doesn't seem to be a lot of thought put into how many new patients we should see vs. the amount of time we need for our return visits. We are a traditionally structured program, with outpatient starting third year. New PGY3s inherit patient panels from outgoing residents. The default schedule leads to more than 40% of our appointment times being for new patients. We are allowed to convert new patient slots into return visits when we run short, but given our inexperience in the outpatient setting it's hard to anticipate when you need that until it's too late and you have a bunch of patients who need relatively close follow-up and no openings.

I would love to hear from people in all practice settings (private practice as well as academic/teaching environments) how much time you spend with new patients vs. return visits (as a total proportion of your time, not how long the individual visits are), how this changes depending on the age/maturity of a practice, and if there is any standard guidance on this for different patient populations.

thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: