new pre-med, new to SDN

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ms6

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've just decided to go into medicine. Here is my story:

Graduated from a UC with a sub 3.0 cum GPA, non-science major. I've had a VERY VERY bumpy college ride, and very under my usual potential. I went through a very long un-motivated period, that lasted basically until i graduated. Now that i've found something that i could really be passionate about, i have this huge roadblock!

I haven't done any of the pre-med requirements yet. I've started with one bio class, which i am getting good grades in, but it is just the beginning. I've started doing research at Stanford VA, in cardiology. I'm looking for some volunteer work right now. i plan on taking the Mcat in April 2006, and apply that fall.

Is doing a post-bac advantageous for me, since i have no pre-med fulfilled, other than calculus and english? Which programs would be better? I've started taking classes at a local JC, but getting into classes is really tough, and I could lose a lot of time like that. Also, what other things can i do that will help me get into a US-school?

Another issue i have is that i'm in a serious relationship, and my significant other will be applying to graduate school soon as well. We have both decided to apply for fall of 2007. I would like to get my resume to a point where I will have a choice on which school i can go to. That way it will give us flexibility to live together, if we get into schools in the same city or area.

Any help from all of you who have so much experience will be greatly appreciated!!! I'm so confused!! :confused:

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.