New to Pharmacy =-)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alex1524

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, im new to the forums and just want to introduce my self real quick. My name is Alex and im currently a freshman in college majoring in biology. I have always wanted to do something in the medical field and lately ive really been looking into pharmacy because i think it will suit me well.

If you guys dont mind helping me i would greatly appreciaite it. I dont know if this has been posted before but here it goes...

Where do i start?? Again, i am a freshman in college. What do i need to do in order to become a pharmacist? What path must i pursue? Every website or person i talk to tells me something different so i want to hear it from you the pros! =-)

My school does not have a major in Pharmacy so i choose the next best thing..Biology. As far as school what needs to be done? How many years etc? Any specific tests? Residency? Im just trying to get as much info as i can specificially what steps i need in order to become a pharmacist. Thanks in advance for the replys!!!

Members don't see this ad.

first year - work hard on biol /chem.... participate in organizations
which will also help you in knowing different pharmacy schools and their requirements. the difference in most schools is in social science... and biochemsitry

in the summer - take pharmacy technichian exam... start looking to work in a pharmacy

Second year - take only 12 hrs, if you are taking organic. work hard for organic chemistry

summer - practice for pcat exam , may be kaplan or something

third year - take the pcat in august (if available) or the earliest you are ready

now, you can apply... you have an edge over many students cuz you already have your grades from bio/chem/organi/microbio.... and you have your pcat... and you have your pharmacist recommendation letter