Night-before-interview dinner

Discussion in 'Ob/Gyn' started by GoofyDoc, Nov 18, 2005.

1. GoofyDoc

GoofyDoc Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Hello. This is my first time posting on this board, so forgive me if this question has been asked in the past. I'm applying this year to both OB and IM (very long story), and I have an interview with a particular program that also has a casual dinner the night before. For those of you who have been thru this type of thing before, how important is it to attend this dinner? It's not that I have a problem with dinners, it's just that the program is about an hour's drive away, and I don't know if I want to do that type of travel the night before an interview esp with a young baby at home. I also have another interview after the day after this one, so it would be back and forth for three days in a row. So I just want to know, can I politely decline without it being taken the wrong way, or should I really really try to go? :confused:

2. neilc

neilc 1K Member
    7+ Year Member

i can say that from an applicant perspective, i learn A LOT about the program from the night before social. it is a great time to have casual conversation with residents about how they like the program, how they get along. additionally, you get a great sense of facutly/resident interaction. to me, these are among the most important things when it comes down to deciding which programs i like.

most of the interview days have been very similar, you get asked (and ask) the same questions over an over. it is good information, but fairly generic, and not very enlightening or surprising. so, to me the interview dinner holds a lot of value.