NMT grad to change fields

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chipsandiscream

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I hope I can find some insight in this forum..even though I'm not a doctor. I'm in the US, but I'm not a US citizen...I'm someone on a student visa. A year ago, I graduated with a bachelor's in Nuclear Medicine Technology. In a matter of years, the market for this profession went down and I haven't been able to find a job. I was not a bad student, I got a 4.0 GPA and graduated with honors and got a couple of awards and scholarships. During my unemployment, I did volunteer work at a cancer center (mostly patient care).
I loved the field, and I loved doing my clinicals, but I think it might be time for me to change fields. I hear there is a master's in Nuclear Medicine now, but I'm not sure about doing that.
I was thinking about radiation therapy, but it seems that the profession is going through the same problems as nuclear medicine. I was also thinking dosimetry, but I haven't heard much of that and I'm not sure if they will accept me without any Radiation therapy experience. I have also been thinking about doing some sort of degree in physics, but I don't know how many years it will take, and money is a problem for me.
I would like to hear suggestions or ideas on what I could do.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I am typing this from work. I have been sitting here all day with zero patients. What a waste of an education. What a waste of taxpayer money. Nuclear medicine is a slimy dog that should be taken out back.

A bachelor's degree to do this? The schools certainly are clever. I didn't even know there were two year degrees until about one month after graduation. Pay differential for completing your bachelors? Nope. Maybe I will get a MASTERS in Nuclear Medicine. What a scream! Ha Ha Ha!