No Premed Advisor, What to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Noel Bender

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
So I am an incoming junior/freshmen undergrad (finished gen eds before graduating high school) at a local public due to personal finances. This university has 18000+ students and their premed adviser knows absolutely nothing. This "premed adviser" is also the nursing school adviser, pre-dental adviser, and pre law school adviser (???) and everything she advises could be learned from reading an about.com article. Have a good GPA, score well on the MCAT, try to get into research, yadayadayada. I get the feeling that she could really care less about me or my success. There's no premed club or organization and I'm basically left to figure things out for myself. I really wish I could have the support, mentorship, and advise of someone who actually knew what they're talking about. I want to know how to package myself, how to best spend my university years, what not to do, etc. but there doesn't seem to be anyone who can help at this university. What can I do? Do independent premed advisers for hire exist out there? Can I mooch off a neighboring college and use their adviser? I live fifteen minutes from Rhodes college which I heard has awesome premed advising. Is it worth seeing if I could pay for one of their advisers to advice me or something? Any ideas? Am I destined to just make SDN my life? I don't want to risk ruining my med school dream because of my ignorance and poor advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Haha, I know, and I do, but SDN has a million opinions for everything and sometimes it's nice to have someone advise you for your particular situation. With SDN I start wanting to fit a million things into my schedule at once and I need someone to tell me to slow down, calm down, be normal, and just do xyz...not the entire alphabet.