non neuro research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anxietypeaker

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey all,

1) i was wondering how much does having no research in a neuro field hurt you (ie phd but only have colorectal cancer research). How much does it hurt my chances?
2) stats are that i have a phd (basic sciences, ~7 pubs a couple of which are first authored), ~240 step 1, but did NOT honor in the surgery rotation. How much does the surgery grade hurt my chances? I'm also somewhat concerned about my step 1.

I particularly would like to hear from those who are residents or who have been on the interview trail.

Members don't see this ad.

hey all,

1) i was wondering how much does having no research in a neuro field hurt you (ie phd but only have colorectal cancer research). How much does it hurt my chances?
2) stats are that i have a phd (basic sciences, ~7 pubs a couple of which are first authored), ~240 step 1, but did NOT honor in the surgery rotation. How much does the surgery grade hurt my chances? I'm also somewhat concerned about my step 1.

I particularly would like to hear from those who are residents or who have been on the interview trail.

Surgery grade isn't very important. Research is better if neuro, but as a PhD you should be fine. 240 is a fine score.

I'll have to 2nd mmmcdowe and say that you should be ok. No one cares about surgery, if you honor great, if you don't who cares. Pubs are pubs, have some. NSGY is better than anything else. You, having 7, shows you know how to go through the meat grinder. Are you 1st author on at least >2? 240 is average, you'll likely match unless you have an interpersonal issue.

Members don't see this ad :)
1) Your step 1 score is fine