Non-Standard Breakdown 8/17

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WTN13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I set this up as an outline but SDN doesn't like my indents.

Long time lurker here. You guys know the usual talk, so I’ll try to avoid repeating things like “Bio is totally random.” My goal with this breakdown is to provide a unique prospective and shine light on resources that I think are underutilized by SDNers.

Scores

Bio: 23

Gchem: 21

Orgo: 25

PAT: 19

RC: 23

QR: 20

Tot Sci: 23

AA: 22

Personal background

· I’m a non-traditional student.

· I took Bio in 2009-2010

· Gchem 2008-2009

· Orgo 2011-2012.

· I haven’t had a math course since 2006.

Section by Section

Bio

Over prepare for this section! To varying degrees I used Cliff’s Notes, Feralis, Ty Jacobs, Destroyer, QVAULT, DAT Bootcamp (BC), and DAT Genius (DG).

• Cliff’s was good for bringing the info back into my head.
  • Feralis and Ty I used to disambiguate confusion.
  • Destroyer really drills things in.
  • QVAULT was ok but I didn’t have enough time to take it seriously.
  • BC & DG are both good but different.
  • BC prepares you for the easy-med to hard questions.
  • DG hits you hard. It's like a continuation of Destroyer difficulty. The answer solutions set DG apart from the rest of the pack. They are thorough and have everything you need to know on that subject. Be sure to turn them into mini-study guides for weak areas and watch your score go up.
Gchem

1) Learn from Chad.

2) Get Destroyed by Destroyer.

3) Mix up BC & DG. I never finished either on time.

a) Like Bio, BC covers the med-hard questions.

b) DG feels like a continuation of Destroyer.

c) Both approaches have their pluses and minuses and both are needed.

Orgo

• My first Orgo practice score 2 months ago was a 13. Hopefully that speaks to how scores can be improved!

1) Learn from Chad.