Non-traditional student applying to optometry school/ Hate for the dental field

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cookie_nibbler

Roseman DMD'26
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good Evening everyone!

I am a recent dental hygiene graduate and have been practicing for almost 4 months now and I have to say, I was foolish for choosing this career. First off, the dental field overall is a really rewarding one, however, the cons of being in the dental field are just too much. For starters, I am 6'2 and even with dental loupes, I find myself always bending and hunching my back incorrectly and its killing me. Moreover, the wrist and neck pain is unbelievable. I find that this field is very repetitive with no progress to pursue anything further. Ive taken my DAT last year and am fortunate to say I scored above average on the DAT and thankfully optometry schools (some) do take the DAT over the OAT. I received my first interview almost one week ago and I'm really happy that I have the chance to interview for a graduate program for optometry. Ive shadowed and done multiple phone interviews with optometrists because of covid and found that the job in my opinion is very interesting and something I can actually see myself doing.