Non-traditional student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sheen

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone here a non-traditional student? I am currently in my last year of PA school and have been really considering dental school. I was planning to work for about a year as a PA before applying to dental schools. My question is that would schools look down on students who have just finished another healthfield degree? Anyone with similar stories? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

While I haven't finished another healthcare related degree, I am a non-traditional applicant. The one thing that I think you will be quizzed over time and time again is "why the switch to dentistry?" thing. There is nothing wrong at all with wanting to join the elite segment of society known as dentists ( :D ), but you need to formulate a concise response to such a question that will demonstrate your understanding of the field, clarify your motives, and communicate that this career is the one that you want for yourself. Doing so will not only help you out should you decide to go on, but more importantly it will help you codify and affirm to yourself if you are or are not making the right decision. Best of luck!

Sprgrover said: