• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Non-Traditional Student

truelee33

Apr 4, 2012
  1. Podiatry Student
    I am headed to Temple in the Fall. I am a pretty non-traditional student: 27 yrs, married, one 3 year old and another due in September. This Fall will be busy and most likely a little stressful. Because of the little ones, my wife will not be working at least initially. I won't be able to work. I know someone before me has done this though. I have to figure out a way to survive financially both paying expensive tuition, buying health insurance for the fam, and providing for the fam in general.

I am familiar with government loans and the whole FAFSA process. I am sure the financial advisor at Temple will be able to help me sort things out, but I wanted to post on here to see if there is anyone out there who has gone through the same thing and survived. Are there any untapped or obscure financial aid programs out there that helped you? Any recommendations on health insurance, etc.? I need enough to pay tuition (~34g/yr) and maybe another 30-35g/yr to maintain my household. I'm also finishing up an MPH program which means for about a year I will be paying around another 6g in tuition there. Any reccomendations would be GREATLY appreciated!

amaprez

Jul 19, 2011
      Don't feel too special. 27 years old is not THAT nontraditional. You might be likely to have a couple of classmates in their 30's. Having a family is not uncommon in podiatry too, especially among the Mormon crowd.

SuperFeisty

7+ Year Member
      Jun 21, 2011
      1. Podiatry Student