Nontrad + Reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Catherine81

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The last time I took the MCAT four years ago, I decided to call it quits and explore other careers. I was extremely discouraged in the past and thought that medicine was not for me. I am finishing a master's degree in a business field (due in March) and working at one of the largest public accounting firms in the country. However, the desire of becoming a doctor has never waned over time. Now, I am not sure how and where to begin my second attempt in pursuing a career as a physician. I graduated with a bachelor's degree in biology and so I have already completed all the requisite courses for medical school. My MCAT scores are too old and of course, not too stellar.

I would like to ask anyone's opinion. Should I take the MCAT and apply using outdated transcripts, LORs, etc? Should I do a post-bac or a master's? I know that an MBA is worthless since none of the courses are in science. I am not sure where to begin at all. I need assistance in this matter!

Catherine

Members don't see this ad.

I would have two concerns:
1. If you graduated in biology 4+ years ago, and haven't used your knowledge since, it's probably somewhat rusty by now, which could both hurt your MCAT and make it harder in medical school.
2. How can you prove your interest in medicine? Do you have volunteering/shadowing experience? Trust me, Adcoms will NOT want to hear that you're fed up with your current career, and going back to an old unfulfilled dream. They want solid indications that medicine is really what you want, and that you'll do whatever it takes to accomplish that goal.

So, specifically, I'd recommend some "refresher" prereq courses and volunteering experience, which, incidentally, will also allow you to get fresh LoR's.