Nontraditional, looking for advice on where to apply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

citius

Aspirant
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second year PhD student at the University of Pittsburgh for Biomedical Informatics, but I'm thinking of taking some time off to go to medical school. I'm applying this year, so I'm looking for advice on where you guys think I should consider.

I went to undergrad at Duke University with an engineering major (BME/ECE, for those interested.)

GPA:

Graduate (26 hrs)
BCPM: 3.7/4.0
AO: 3.7/4.0
Overall: 3.7/4.0

Undergraduate (168 hrs)
BCPM: 3.69/4.0
AO: 3.40/4.0
Overall: 3.53/4.0

MCAT: 35R - 10V, 13P, 12B.

I'm looking at applying all over, including Pitt and others. Where do you guys think I should shoot for? My undergraduate GPA isn't as high as I'd like for it to have been. I've done a fair bit of volunteering (probably close to 60 hours this past year, and at least another 150 or 200 hrs in undergrad), and since I'm a grad student, I'm doing a lot of research.

I've applied before, though (in 2007), and I'm trying to also figure out - if they ask 'what's different' - I'm more mature, more experienced, have a *lot* more research coming up (one poster at an international conference, but somewhere around five or six papers coming up in the next year or so)... like - I know I still want to do medicine (...that obviously hasn't changed...) and I've a more mature perspective.

One thing to consider, though, is that I'm only 21, so I'm not sure if my age will count against the experience over most of my age-peers.

Am I overcomplicating this, or do I have a right to be worried?

Members don't see this ad.