Nontraditional undecided btwn NP or Doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Marlee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
This seems to be like a helpful site and I just want to put my dilemma down since it's driving me nuts and hopefully some of you will sympathize and give some advice :)

I am 29 yrs old currently working in the IT field and hated it from the beginning. As an undergrad student I was pre-med and fulfullied all of my pre-requisite course work except for inorganic chem and a 2nd semester of physics. The school that I went to has a rigourous science program specially in bio! The classes were very hard and I struggled all throughout my 4 yrs there, I ended up with a 2.7 gpa! (I know, bad). So that's what deterred me from completing the pre-med courses and applying to med school. Only elite students got encouraged to apply.

So, here I am 8 yrs later wanting to go back into the health field. I researched nurse practitioner programs and thought that it might be a good fit. I am currently enrolled in a community school to fulfill the pre-reqs for that. But lately, I just have this feeling that I could be a good doctor.

What is stopping me is my low GPA and having to re-take those pre-requisites. Does anyone know if there is an expiration on the science courses. I took most of the them in 1997 & 1998. Obviously the time comitmment is another factor. Looks like I would have to put in alot of time in but being that I'm starting off so badly I might not even get in!

Ok, sorry I know that my story is not exactly original but just wanted to vent. Thank you all.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello Marlee,

I think that you’ll find a lot of us non-trads are in similar situations.

First, you’ve probably done this already but you’ll want to really research the difference between being an NP and being a doc. That decision is entirely yours.