• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

GenSurgorOrtho

10+ Year Member
Nov 19, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hello all! I am an a medical student interested in Ortho, but am realistic and accept the fact that I might not match. If I do not match what are my options and which is the best path to take to eventually match. Thank you, any advice is much appreciated.

Tired

Fading away
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Dec 12, 2006
What do you mean by "eventually match"? There's no do-overs here. You either match or you don't.

About the Ads

VincentAdultman

15+ Year Member
Jun 18, 2005
New York
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Sure path to failure.

Anectodotal sure, but I know a handful of guys who got into ortho after completing a research year.

Basically the two paths to take if you don't match are doing a year of research or doing a year in general surgery. It's a personal decision based on what your application looks like and what pain you tolerate the least. Both have their pros and cons, and they both have a similar success rate (I'm too lazy to look it up, but in general those who go unmatched have a poor prognosis.)

Prelim year pros:

-Show your institution your clinical accumen
-Get letters
-Find yourself a PGY-2 spot (VERY RARE)

Cons:

-No free time
-Doesn't really improve your application too much
-No one gives a f#@$ about your education ie you're a space on the call schedule.

Research year Pros
-More free time
-Can get a good number of pubs out if you're at the right place and you work hard
-Get letters

Cons
-Can't get a PGY-2 spot since you won't meet RRC's ortho intern requirements

No way is a guarantee; it just comes down to how hard you work and how personable you are.

Tired

Fading away
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Dec 12, 2006
Yeah, we've discussed this before.