Not So Perfect But What Is

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
G

grant555

Hello,

I have read many posts on this forum about the different military branches and the HPSP scholarships. I am about a month away from taking the DAT (began studying 12/03) and I feel pretty good about it. I have been talking to a Navy and Army recruiter about the HPSP. I was an army reservist for six years, so I have some military experience and can agree that the military can be frustrating and quite a bit of a bureaucracy.

But at the end of the day, I will apply for the HPSP to help with dental school. I have a three year old son, and my wife is a stay at home mom (the way I prefer it) and I feel that I have no realistic way to attend dental school than with the military's help. The cost to go to dental school is so great in my opinion, that I couldn't afford it if my wife and I both worked full time jobs during the four year stint. The instruments alone run in the thousands and some schools even make you lease them.

If I borrow all the way, I'll owe 40K for undergrad, about 150k for dental school, and a young associate only makes about 125k, but the IRS will dig into that. This doesn't even include owning a home or a couple of cars.

The only concern I have about the HPSP is availability of residency training. Without a doubt, I want to enter a Oral Surgery residency after school, and will pick any branch that has the best chances for me to do so. Any help that anyone can give will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I am fairly sure that a OMFS residency is only possible after at least one and likely two tours as a GP dentist in all of the services...that's 3 to 6 years before getting in an OMFS residency. I'm also fairly sure that after dental school, you will be required to do one year of "internship" before going onto your first GP tour.