Note Taking in DPT School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EHCAT4

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I was wondering if I could get some advice about recommendations for note-taking systems in DPT School? I know this is a topic that has been addressed a couple of times on here, but I was hoping for some new perspectives!

Just some background- I am a senior athletic training student planning to pursue my DPT studies in the fall. I have been accepted to Emory & Henry College's DPT program, have an interview at UNC in 2 weeks, and am waiting to hear back from other schools. I have made it through my undergraduate studies in athletic training without a solid note-taking system. I am ashamed to say that, but am looking to create a new system. I have been very successful in my studies and clinicals despite not having a good system, but really want to make one that works for me in grad school.

I have physical notes, OneNote notes, google docs, word, powerpoints, its a mess. I am not sure if I should create a computer-based system of notes such as writing on powerpoints and using OneNote/etc. or use a paper notes system. I realize printing all of the material would probably be insane and I know first hand how information dense classes such as anatomy and kinesiology can be hard to keep of with by handwriting.

I am just curious to hear what current or former students have done and any advice is appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi!