Nursing route guidance(highschool graduate)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dbox96

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Peace and happiness everyone

Its been a year since Ive graduated high school. I wanted to get a job and buy a car and get situated just a bit. And time has passed so quickly, i regret that decision. I could have gotten around on a bus or something

I want to become an orthopedic surgeon but where I stand in life, my mother and I's current living situation is making me want to get into nursing and start working asap.

Ive been hearing so many mixed answers as to what the best route is to take for nursing. I will begin school in the fall. I dont know if I should go to a community college or go to a private college like keiser or concorde(I live in south FL)

Im scared bc I dont know if nursing recruiters care about where you went to obtain your degree.

I have zero knowledge of nursing and how I should go about this situation. but I hear this forum would be the best place.

Idk if I should go to a hospital and talk to nurses or professors.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ps, I searched my question on the forum, im not sure if i used it correctly, but I couldnt find what i was looking for.

You will be much better off going to allnurses.com for your answers, but to give you a little advice I would try to stay away from the private colleges in Florida for a few reasons; recently a college closed their entire program and everyone in the nursing program was out of luck, that might be a fluke, but I wouldn't take my chance with that amount of money. Also the community colleges, while it takes longer to get into the programs, are much, much cheaper. Make sure you get B's or above in all your science pre-reqs if you wish to move on in the future. Good luck, try allnurses.com

Dbox96

Reaction score