NYMC Vs UMSOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Strangeman123

Reaction score
Hiya Everyone! I'm pretty new to this site so bear with me here. I recently got accepted into NYMC and UMSOM and am in a bit of a rut trying to figure out which school I should attend. I am currently a NY resident and I want to match back here for my residency and future training. I'm considering IM right now due to the numerous possibilities it has for further specialization and I'm not interested in surgery. I've already spoken to UMSOM students and they say it is very plausible with away rotations and signaling, but NYMC matches excellently into NY for IM. Another point of consideration is that a lot of my close friends and family want me to go to NYMC because they are concerned about my safety due to the considerably higher crime rate in Baltimore. Safety isn't the highest on my priority list but is still something that I want to consider. Finally, UMSOM is currently a T30 school and NYMC is around T100. I've been reading online that prestige is becoming more important, especially with the advent of p/f Step 1, but IM is not an extremely competitive field. Also, I don't know if I'll end up sticking with IM. Given all of these factors, I'm incredibly torn between these two schools. I can see myself going to either. I hope can get some clarity here. Thanks, ya'll.

Goal: To Select which Medical School is for me. Currently prioritize prestige, NY matching, and safety.

NYMC:
Pro
  • From NY originally, easier for family and more connections
  • Can do rotations in NYC, i.e. LHH, East Harlem Metropolitan Hospital.
  • Strong match in NYC, 68% of medical school students match into NY locations
  • The tiered grading system, no lettered grading. P/f pre-clinicals, and tiered P/f in clinicals.
Con
  • Lower ranking and prestige, will impact the ability to match into more prestigious programs?
  • Tuition ~60k
UMSOM:
Pro