Oat Experience 2018

Pre-Opto

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! So I took my OAT today and I have used these forms for guidance throughout my journey so I wanted to give back! My spring term ended mid-June and I was pretty exhausted with finals so I took a week off just to relax and attend my cousin’s wedding. Last week of June I started working on my personal statement and application. I was working on my app and studying for the OAT on and off until I submitted my application on July 10th. From July 10th till the day of my OAT, July 30th, I studied everyday for 10 hours. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS. The amount of stress I went through these past couple of days was so rough. I used Chad’s videos and the big Kaplan blue book to study. I went through every video and quiz on Chad’s website for physics, chem, and ochem. I used the blue book for biology. The previous school year I took biochemistry and physics so the information was pretty fresh. For the first 10 days I went through all the videos and the last 10 days I did practice exams.

Kaplan Diagnostic:
Bio: 270
Chem: 240
Ochem: 200 (literally pressed random answers cause I didn’t know anything)
RC: 300
Phy: 300
QR: 280

Kaplan Full Test #1:
Bio: 320
Chem: 290
Ochem: 300
Phy: 270
RC: 200
QR: 320

Free Kaplan Test:
Chem: 320
Phy: 310
RC: 240
QR: 340

After this test I did a lot of practice problems that Kaplan offers. Although my scores were not good I was consistently learning new material. I decided to commit to raising my science scores so I did 2 practice tests with just total science sections that Kaplan offers.

Natural Sciences Section Test A:
Ochem: 330

Natural Sciences Section Test B:

So my scores were not that great but I continued to do practice problems till test day.

Oat scores:
QR: 310
RC: 350
Bio: 340
GC: 350
OC: 350
Phy: 340
TS: 350
AA: 340