Jun 8, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello Everyone! So I just took my OAT test today and thought I should share my experience and what to expect since I have been reading around as well before my exam.

Preparation:

So I am originally a pre-med student and I had spent a few months studying for the MCAT exam (both the 2014 and new 2015 versions). But I studied with a friend who was studying with the OAT and the material we both had gone over was fairly similar. The MCAT just tests you more on applying your knowledge to the passages they give you throughout the exam – so a ton of critical thinking and conceptual application.

Starting with the MCAT studying, I had purchased a subscription to Chad’s videos which helped a TON and I feel as if I retained and understood the information a lot better than I ever have in my undergraduate years with professors. My friend subscribed to his OAT version of the videos and they’re very similar (and identical videos/plan for physics). The only thing extra I had to learn was taxonomy, evolution, and ecology information which the MCAT does not include. I also prepared for the MCAT by using The Princeton Review Online course which consists of practice passages and also practice questions on each chapter of the book. The stand-alone questions helped me a lot and were relevant to the way OAT formats their question so I think it helped me a lot. I know Princeton has an OAT version (Cracking the OAT) but I did not purchase that course and I am not sure what study materials they offer in their online course but I would suspect it is similar. But they do offer some free question drills and outlines online and 2 practice tests (in PDFs) if you sign up at theprincetonreview.com/cracking and put in the ISBN number.