OAT/Optometry app full experience!(LENGTHY DETAILED POST)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhillyGirl97

Reaction score
Hi guys! So I remember reading through this forum and getting some really good advice on here so I thought I would talk about what worked for me personally and what did not for the OAT. So I graduated in 2019 and decided to take a year off for my apps and work at an eye doctor's office for some experience which started in June. I decided to take my OAT in August which was a horrible idea LOL I was working 4 days a week and trying to actively study for 1.5 months and it was just not a good idea at all. I tried my best to study but my practice scores were so atrocious I decided to push it back to the first week of September. But yet again an extra 2 weeks did not do much for me. I took the OAT in early September and did not do well at all, most of my scores were under 300.

Safe to say I was just expecting A LOT more of myself but again I had not given myself enough time so in hindsight it makes sense that I got scores under 300. I decided to take it again in early December so I could have a sufficient amount of time to get through the info. The second time around I decided to drop my work hours to 2 days a week so I would have more time to study. I studied for about 5 days a week and then the other 2 days I worked and reviewed for 2 hours a day at night. I took breaks throughout the week so my mind would get some relaxation time like running a short errand, getting lunch with a friend, cleaning my room, reading a book for an hour, watching 2 episodes of a show etc etc. Breaks are super important so please make sure to incorporate them into your schedule, an hour to 2 hours of relaxing really helps!!! SO here is what I did for each subject:

BIOLOGY: