Off Service Intern starting OB tomorrow

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doc Brown

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
So I'm an EM intern starting on OB Night Float tomorrow. I don't know anything about anything (I'll pause and let the jabs fly) and I especially don't know anything about OB, because at my medical school, we were silent observors. That means I have done TWO pelvic exams my whole medical career, have caught ZERO babies, couldn't read a Fetal Heart Tracing to save my (and I suppose a baby's) life, etc.... In fact, it's been so long since I've been on L&D that I don't even remember what questions to ask in a history.
Needless to say, I'm pretty nervous. I don't want my resident to think I'm any more of a dummy, but to be honest, I really can't do anything useful. Any tips, pocket manual, useful info that'll help me fake till I make it.

Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Doc Brown!
First off, I'm only an MS4, so take all advice with a grain of salt. There is a good small pocket book called Obstetrics Gynecology & Infertility. It's a small, red handbook/survival guide type book that has a ton of good info in it. I would be upfront with your resident on your first meeting about your background and that you've not had exposure to this type of work previously, but you are willing and interested to learn.
Good luck on your night float rotation!

Dude, don't sweat it. This is only your second month. The residency is four years for a reason. Just be a good intern: stay on your feet; be eager to evaluate incoming patients; do as many deliveries as possible, don't forget the paperwork. Its your resident's job to teach you and make sure you get it. They should be looking over everything that you do. The little red book mentioned by the previous poster is golden for all OB interns and referred to by all up through the fourth year.
Have fun!