Off Topic: Which Adobe to fill out forms?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TCIrish03

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
320
Reaction score
0

Members don't see this ad.
I can get software pretty cheap here at work (to use at home). I can get either Adobe Acrobat Standard 7.0 for $40 or Adobe Acrobat Professional 8.0 for $65.

A cursory reaction would be, go with Pro 8.0 however, I was unsure about stability, unnecessary bells and whistles, compatibility issues, etc and I'm not concerned about 15 bucks difference. However, most people here are more computer savvy than me, so I'd appreciate anyone's thoughts/experience.

Bottom line is, I don't create my own forms, nor do I see the need to anytime soon. My needs are being able to save forms once they are already filled out (e.g., my secondaries which you obviously can't do with just the Reader). There were a couple secondaries that the formatting needed fixing (such as Rosalind), but a poster here made a fix for all of us to use. Can that be accomplished in Standard or in Professional?

Thanks in advance
 

IceMan0824

Holy crip, he's a crapple
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
Both Standard and Professional version will allow you to save pdf. The difference between both are the more advanced bell & whistles that you don't care about.
 

IceMan0824

Holy crip, he's a crapple
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
Pretty much

Acrobat (like Jesus) saves.
Reader just lets you view.
 

GT2

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
132
Reaction score
1
I know prof. allows you to type on the pdf itself.
 

Shpamme

status pages confuse me.
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
357
Reaction score
0
I agree--Professional does allow you to type on the PDF itself. But isn't that only for some forms, that particular schools made fillable when they created them? I thought with other schools, the forms were not fillable period, even with Adobe Professional software, because the school didn't create them as fillable.
 

GT2

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
132
Reaction score
1
I agree--Professional does allow you to type on the PDF itself. But isn't that only for some forms, that particular schools made fillable when they created them? I thought with other schools, the forms were not fillable period, even with Adobe Professional software, because the school didn't create them as fillable.

you can create the fillables yourself if the school did not make them fillable. thats a pro with adobe pro haha :laugh:
 
Top