Only Getting Passes in Third Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureMDFromThe513

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm at a US MD school. For third year grading, ny school does Honors/High Pass/Pass/Fail. I have had two rotations so far and have missed the cutoff for high pass by one or two points on both of them (the low cutoff for high pass is usually in the 83-86 range). I am very worried that I will only get high passes for the rest of third year and not match into my residency of choice. My step score is not strong at all (223) and I want to match in Family Medicine (which was one of those clerkships that I only passed). Any advice on what to do if I only manage to pass all of my rotations? I'm going to do my best to turn this around for the rest of the year but I am feeling very discouraged right now.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 4th year DO student, but I can comment on your situation from the perspective that you want to go into FM (if you're thinking about going into any other specialty, sorry...can't help you there).
Your step 1 score is more than enough (aka pretty strong) for FM. For reference, I didn't even take the USMLE (only took COMLEX exams), passed my PE exam (equivalent of your CS exam), and just comfortably passed all my rotations (my school doesn't do honors or anything, but if I took your grading scale, I would be equivalent of where you are. Granted, for the most part, my evaluations 3rd year have been good, and I did one audition in FM where I got great feedback.
That was pretty much it for me. And as someone who didn't even take the USMLE, still managed to get plenty of interviews this season and am happy with how things have turned out. So, you will be perfectly fine. No need to get discouraged. If you have more specific questions, feel free to DM me!

Reactions: 1 user
You are fine!