Optometry in the US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anna33

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year student at UofT with an 82-83% averaeg (3.62 gpa). If I were to apply to the States, how does the gpa/mark conversion work? Do they have a different gpa system from Canada? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 3rd year student at UofT with an 82-83% averaeg (3.62 gpa). If I were to apply to the States, how does the gpa/mark conversion work? Do they have a different gpa system from Canada? Thanks!
They standardize everyone's GPA-- American and Canadian. This helped me when I was applying: https://portal.optomcas.org/applicants2013/faq/gpas.shtml

I applied this year from a Canadian school and my GPA didn't change at all.

Reactions: 1 user
@Aristen thank you, though it's a little confusing!! If you don't mind me asking, which Canadian school do you go to? Also, what do you think my chances are of getting in?? Thankss!

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Although OptomCAS standardizes GPA, they give Canadians a small bump. I'm not sure by how much, but I can pretty much confirm it. When I did the interview the admissions straight up said "We understand that the Canadian grading system is different". We're probably compared to other Canadians though.

Reactions: 1 user
Although OptomCAS standardizes GPA, they give Canadians a small bump. I'm not sure by how much, but I can pretty much confirm it. When I did the interview the admissions straight up said "We understand that the Canadian grading system is different". We're probably compared to other Canadians though.

Ohh okk, thanks for the feedback! Also, if you don't mind me asking did you get accepted to optometry in the States and what was your gpa when you applied?