Orthopaedic Spine Surgeon - ask me anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

orthos

Orthopaedic Spine Surgeon
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

About me: I am an attending physician specializing in orthopaedic surgery with fellowship in spine surgery. Currently in solo private practice, on staff at a community hospital. I don't have much experience with academic medicine, but I maintain research projects based on my community setting.

An employee of mine who is a medical school applicant suggested I create an account on this website to try helping others who are going into the medical field. I'll be answering questions when I have free time, and I'll try to answer all questions as best I can.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

How much do you make?
How many hours do you work?
How many hours of sleep do you get?

1. What drew you to ortho?
2. What advice would you give to med students interested in the field?

Members don't see this ad :)
How much do you make?
I won't disclose the exact number, but I was recruited by the community hospital out of fellowship with a guaranteed salary above average for those with my level of experience. I will mention that I am in my second year out of fellowship. I also maintain auxiliary income from in office billings/procedures, as well as income from doing procedures at an ambulatory surgery center.

Reactions: 1 users
I think orthopedics is a remarkably cool field but have terrible spatial reasoning skills. Would I be shot in this field if I'm not someone who is good at 3-D visualization? Thanks so much.

How does your training and responsibility differ from a neurosurgeon who does spines? Is there any practical difference? How closely are the two fields connected?

Thanks a lot for doing this, by the way! :)

Reactions: 1 user
I always thought spine was part of neuro. Is there a difference between ortho and neuro that specialize in spine?